Wednesday, March 26, 2014

MYSTERY & ALIEN JAZZ (Toppyjazz 329)

Perhaps this will be the most weird program we ever made. First the secret about the mystery about Ted McNabb. Read the amazing story from Marion Evans about the album Ted McNabb and Company. Marion Evans about Ted McNabb

Further an Alien story starting with Fredric Browns Martians Go Home! He started a long jazz way for Shorty Rogers(1924-1994)with his Martians jazz series.

More Space music by Raymond Scott(1908-1994),Mark Murphy, The Cousins and Wayne Shorter. You will hear all information in our Airplay. Raymons Scott was the first musician with a giant electronis equipment :

Playlist :

01 - Margie - Ted McNabb (album Ted McNabb and Company)

02 - Spring Is Here - Ted McNabb (same album)

03 - Close as Pages In A Book - Ted McNabb

04 - They - Mark Murphy (album Mark II)

05 - Martians Go Home!- Shorty Rogers (album The Swinging Mr. Rogers)

06 - The Man With The Golden Arm - Elmer Bernstein/Shorty Rogers (album The Man With The Golden Arm)

07 - Martians Come Back - Shorty Rogers (album Martians Come Back!)

08 - Martians Stay Home - Shorty Rogers (album Martians Stay Home)

09 - The Robot - The Cousins (album Double Gold)

10 - Orbits - Wayne Shorter (album Without A Net)

11 - Message From Where - Raymond Scott with the Secret 7 (album The Unexpected)

12 - The Man With The Golden Arm- Jet Harris (album The Best of Jet Harris)

Download music :Toppyjazz-329

Download radio version Toppyjazz-329 Radio version

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

CAPITOL JAZZ (part 5) (Toppyjazz 328)

This is part 5 from a never ending story about Capitol Records. We got some unique and less know recordings . First singer Michael Dees(1941, Houston). He has a fine voice but made only 2 records. Another unique recording Ken Hanna's(1921-1982) Jazz for Dancers from 1955. Further Las Vegas crooner Vic Damone(1928) who loves to swing. Pianoplayer Paul Smith (1922-2013) and female singerans pianist Carole Simpson (1928?-10 februar 2013) close this week's program.

Playlist :

01 - Talk To Me Baby - Michael Dees (album Talk To Me Baby)

02 - Somewhere - Michael Dees (album Talk To Me Baby)

03 - Cellophane Disguise - Michael Dees (album The Michael Dees Affair)

04 - Alone In Paris - Micahel Dees (album The Michael Dees Affair)

05 - Somnambulisme - Stan Kenton (Ken Hanna arranger) (album The Complete Capitol Studio recordings)

06 - Bogota - Ken Hanna (album Jazz For Dancers)

07 - The Continental - Ken Hanna (album Jazz For Dancers)

08 - Allright Oke You Win - Vic Damone (album My Baby Loves To Swing)

09 - My Baby Loves To Swing - Vic Damone (album My Baby Loves To Swing)

10 - I Remember You - Paul Smith (album Cool and Sparkling)

11 - Softly - Paul Smith (album Softly, Baby)

12 - My Shining Hour - Paul Smith (album Cascades)

13 - Gentleman Friend - Carole Simpson (album All About Carole)

14 - You Make Me Feel So Young - Carole Smith (album All About Carole)

15 - This Could Be The Start of Something - Carole Simpson (album Singin' and Swingin' )

16 - Just Because We're Kids - Carole Simpson (album All About Carole)

17 - And Now Goodbye - Carole Simpson (album Singin' and Swingin')

Download Radioversion with Dutch Host : Toppyjazz-328 Radio version

Download music only Toppyjazz-328 Capitol Jazz

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

New Jazz Recordings (Toppyjazz 327)

First this week the son from famous female singer Caterina Valente Mr. Eric van Aro and his cd Obsession.

Second our great friend Dena DeRose. We missed her album Love's Holiday, but at last we got this marvolous swinging and subtile cd. Furthermore guitar player Graham Dechter , Cynthia Holiday, Ron Carter with the WDR Big Band and Marion Meadows. Our bonus track is The Good Life from composer Sacha Distel.

Playlist :

01 - Ordinary Fool - Eric van Aro (album Obsession)

02 - Dancing To The Rhythm - Eric van Aro (album Obsession)

03 - Green Dolphin Street - Dena DeRose (album Love's Holiday)

04 - The Good Life - Dena DeRose (album Love's Holiday)

05 - Road Song - Graham Dechter (album Takin It There)

06 - I Love Being Here With You - Cynthia Holiday (album I Like What I See)

07 - I Believe I Can Fly - Cynthia Holiday (album I Like What I See)

08 - Caravan - Ron Carter with WDR Big Band (album Bass legende - Philharmonie, Cologne, 25-01-2013)

09 - Marcosinho - Marion Meadows (album Whisper)

10 - Golden Curtain - Marion Meadows (album Whisper)

11 - La Belle Vie - Sacha Distel

Download Music Only :Toppyjazz 327

Download with Dutch Host :Toppyjazz 327 Radio version

A Big Blue Canoe (Toppyjazz 571)

Blue Canou Records started 2020 with a great issue  new recordings : 1.  Roger Burn Trilogy- A Tribute To Roger Burn And Shapes      Feat...